Legs strength training

Hi I have been running for 7 months and do about 14/15 Miles a week and I am doing the London marathon Next year I have been reading about strength training For my legs to stop me getting injured so I wondered if Any one could give me some advice on how best to approach This as I don't have time to get to the gym . Any help would be great. Thanks

Comments

• not somrething I've ever done to be honest, but I would advise stretching regularly.  Most of is don't

• dont go overboard with strength! I did this doing lots of squats(no weight) and walking lunges(to help with my paras10 training) and started having a knee problem. Ive since found out after xrays, mri's and injections etc that it was infact a tight muscle in my glute that caused tension on a band that went to my knee.

So the best advice to give you is to stretch off regular even on a non training day, have a little stretch, especially your glute/hip region if your going to strengthen your legs, just dont go overboard! image

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭

My advice would be to start increasing your mileage as soon as possible, so that you can build it up gradually and you've got a decent chance of starting off with a good base mileage when it comes to training for the marathon.  By the end of the year you want to be doing about twice the mileage you are now, before starting a formal marathon plan.

Re: strength, things like squats and lunges are good, also general core exercises since core strength (arguably) is just as important for good running form and injury prevention as strong legs. Cycling is good for quad strength, which running doesn't get to so much, but they will tire towards the end of a marathon.

• Snap!Snap! ✭✭✭

I have been advised by my Physio to swim, legs only, mix of breaststroke and freestyle kicks. Use a float for your arms. It's hard work but you can feel it working.