Warm up?!

Ive read a few places that you don't need to warm up (depending on distance of run) Just wondering what everyone else does for short (up to 10K) and long distance runs?

Comments

• The shorter races you definitely need to warm up properly.  For a 10k I would do something like 3 miles easy to steady and some strides to get the muscles ready and loosen up.  HM maybe 2 miles and some strides.  I've no experience of marathon running yet but I would think maybe a mile or so would be adequate.

It also makes the start of the race that much easier

• For local 5km parkrun I jog there which is about three miles at easy pace. For 10km or more I like to spend at least 20mins easy pace with some strides. Probably do similar for hm.

If for some reason (i'm late) I don't warm up then the first mile it so is horrible. On a couple of occasions I've almost dropped out due to inadequate warm-up.
  • I think that's where I have struggled on shorter distances (5K) the first few mins kill me! Longer runs I'm usually fine on as the pace is generally slower at the start, so need to warm up a bit more, a mixture of jogging and stretching I'm guessing is best?

Thanks for the replies!

• For marathons I've never warmed up, first couple of miles are usually done at an easy pace, because I'm usually stuck in the middle of lots of people, to let the muscles get used to running.

For half marathons and below I do a couple of hundred yards jogging but not much more than that. I'm not a fast runner so the race tends to get mine warmed up suffficiently.

•  a mixture of jogging and stretching I'm guessing is best?

http://www.liveforexchart.info/g.gif

• drthgs Colin wrote (see)

a mixture of jogging and stretching I'm guessing is best?

http://www.liveforexchart.info/g.gif

Is there an echo in here? image