More Structured Training

I've been running for around 16 months now.  Started off not being able to run for more than 30 seconds, joined a running club (who taught me to slow down!) and have since managed to complete 3 half marathons, with times of 2.30 hrs, 2.22 hrs and then 2.20 hrs.  I have also completed a 5k in 28 mins and a 10k in 61 mins.  I generally run 3 times a week - two 4/5 milers and one long run (longest run to date being 15 miles). 

I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on how to take a more structured approach to my training?  I don't think I will ever be fast but would like to be able to get my half marathon time down to around 2.15 hrs if possible!  I was thinking of introducing intervals or hill training.  Also, should I increase the number of runs I do?  Should I be doing some none running exercise? 

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Have a look at the training section of this site as there's a few plans that sound like they'd suit your needs.

I'd say you'll need to increase the number of runs and add a speed session to improve, but the plans should cover this.

• I assume your running club will have a coach? Would probably be a good idea to ask their advice as they already know you and what you're already doing training-wise.

If you've only been running for less than 18 months and each half marathon has been faster than the last, I'd say you've probably got a lot more room for improvement in you than you think! 2:15 is a realistic time to aim for now but (without even knowing your age or whether you're male/female) I'd reckon with the right training you could do much better than that...