Options

Base Training

Comments

• Options
    SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭

Great to see this thread resurrected, those of you that have read some or all of the thread will know that I have been doing Hadd training on and off for a few years now.   Unfortunately I run marathons too often to get a long enough spell on base training to achieve the full effects but I started again in the summer and running to 70%MHR I managed to get my mileage up nicely without suffering any over training or injuries.   My peak mileage week in August was 100 miles, then back at work the following week I ran 80mpw and the week after 75mpw (including 2 marathons in 3 days).   The following weekend I knocked 10 minutes off my marathon PB without a taper and it wasn't a flat or fast course(Wolverhampton) and all the proof I need that Hadd training works.    A few marathons after that then swine flu I'm now building up my training again.

For those of you starting out the basics are read the Hadd stuff, and keep it to hand as it's a lot to take in on one hit.

Do a MHR test or sprint like hell for the finish line in a race.   the formula to calculate MHR doesn't work for a lot of folk

Build up your mileage to one hour a day (I usually only run 6 days a week) starting out at 70-75% MHR and work towards getting that down to 70% MHR...it does get easier, the first couple of weeks can be very frustrating but perservere.

Do a Hadd test every 6 weeks or so, how you perform at the lower heart rates is a really good performance monitor

Once you can run 10 miles with no cardiac drift at 70% MHR, ie. pace and HR remain constant introduce 2 work sessions a week at ILTHR pace (see last page of Hadd bumpf) until you can do 10 miles at that HR with no cardiac drift then your works sessions move up to the next HR range.

this really is a great way to train and you will get great results

• Options