Thought you might like this one...

2»

Comments

• I used to work as a writer in an advertising agency (although, I hasten to add, never on the McEvil account).

Many people think advertising is nothing more than 'legalised lying' and I have some sympathy with that view, but ultimately the onus is on the consumer to actually stop a minute and think before getting the cash out. Nobody's being forced to do nuthin' by no-one!

It used to be 'I think, therefore I am', now it's 'I consume, therefore I am'.

And that's sad.
  • The coffee cup lids now come with "caution - liquid in this cup may be VERY hot" or something similar stamped on them. And they are right - what they miss is "caution - this coffee tastes nothing like coffee"!

I do remember seeing one of those old advertising signs in a theme pub saying "Smoke Woodbine - they're good for you" so in that case, there could be a good chance of suing, but nowadays, anyone who smokes knows the risks.

However, given that a US court found in favour of a teenager who sued the guy who had asked her to the prom $100 for the dress she had bought and $1million for hurt feelings, McDs might have a fight on their hands.
  • Nessie, you're right about the coffee, does anybody get past buying it more than once, it's foul.
  • If only the guy had told the prom girl that she LOOKED a million dollars, he could have saved a lot of cash!