Is it possible

I have just completed my first half marathon (1:55:52) and have a place for London Marathon 2013...unfortunately surgery means I will be unable to run from 10th Dec 2012 to 21st Jan 2013 which is exactly 3 months to the big day. I'll be training up to 10th Dec increasing distance as I go...will the 3 months be enough...I want a sub 4:30 time.

Comments

• .... it depends......

I trained up for my first in about 10 weeks - it wasn't fun - I had been running for about 2 years and had done 3 half marathons.  In retrospect I needed longer but I survived and entered another within days of finishing.

My husband had knee surgery last Jan - took the requisite time off (6 weeks or so) and then started training again - but it took him 6 months to be back to half marathon state - so I guess it depends what you are having done - what you 'can' do when recouperating and the state of your running fitness now.  I have been ill most of this year - barely running at all yet ran a half marathon on 3 weeks training in a time that was my pb about 4 years ago. However I have 7 years of running and 10 marathons in my legs.  ( I was still surprised I managed it I must admit).

• Sounds like it might be a suck it and see. I suppose I can always defer my entry in March until 2014 if the training is not going well. I've only been running a year and so far only a 10k and 1/2 marathon under my belt. Although might try another half between now and december.

• If you can build up your general fitness as much as possible in advance of surgery it should help.

Is there anything you can do after the surgery like running in water, that might be able to help keep your fitness levels up?

• Andrew 3 months is enough time for the training but probably won't garenty a 4.30 finesh time. Is there anything you can do after the op before you start training? Thinking you could keep your fitness ticking over with swimming or something before you can run again depending on doctor's advice?