Stepping up to full marathon

I am really struggling to make the step up to full marathon distance. I've just done my second marathon, 7 years after my first. Both times were almost identical, around 4hrs 45. This is really disappointing as my half marathon time is around 1hr 45. In both marathons I got bad cramp (at 15 and 18 miles) and had to walk / run as best I could from then on. Anyone experienced the same and can give any advice? I am sure there's a sub 4 marathon in me somewhere! I know there's no magic answer, and training, nutrition and hydration are all key but any nuggets of info would be appreciated. 

Comments

• I'm no expert and don't run your times, but take a closer look at your hydration. You may need more salt? I'm sure someone else will come along who knows more about this stuff.... 

http://www.eletewater.co.uk/research

• Interesting read, thanks for the link
  • Were the marathons hot ?

How did your long runs go ?

You must have run past that distance in training - did you cramp then ?

With your half times I'm sure there's a sub 4 in you.
  • Didn't cramp in training but only went into late teens although probably slower pace than the marathons. Each marathon was different, one warm and sunny one cold and wet. I was resigned to not being a natural marathon runner but I know it will always niggle at me if I don't bring that time down to or below 4. I suppose train better is the obvious answer but just hoping for other tips if anyone has experienced the same probs and have overcome them...
  • TeknikTeknik ✭✭✭

Ian, chin up.  I 've a 1h43 Half and it took me SEVEN attempts to break 4h. I kid you not...

The answer is embarrassingly simple.  You cramped because of lactate build up. The lactate built up because your Heart Rate drifted up too high. Your heart rate drifted up too high because you must have spent too much time training at too high a pace = too high a heart rate.