P + D training for VLM 2013

Comments

• Finished off my week two with a 13 miler yesterday, eight of them at MP.  Tough keeping to the pace because of the strong winds and probably went too fast on 3 of the miles but fairly close on the others. 

Because of work I am shifting Tuesday to Monday this week so it's a 10 miler at GA, not the ideal but legs feel fine anyway so should be ok.  Slight step up in the up to 55 mile programme this week with an extra run.

• Ten - I actually did a max heart rate test image so I know that the HR is about right.  If I used the calculations I would actually be going at a lower HR and hence more slowly.

• The HR max test is ceratinly not something I'd want to do twice image

I am no expert, but I'm basing my runs on pace, and using the heart rate only to check I'm not overdoing it.  My reasoning is that I have a particular target time in mind for the marathon (based on race times and predictions), and so I'm going with recommended paces to meet that target.

I'm not sure if this helps you, but hopefully someone else with more experience will chime in.

• 50x25m front crawl this morning and a nice 6 miles recovery to close the year. image

First race of the New Year tomorrow which is another off road raceimage

Literatin If you do the Half marathon do it as your last long run and don't taper for it, I have one on the 23rd March, but do the next couple of days as easy running thats what I have done for the past few years it's still 5 weeks out from London.

• No Pain wrote (see)

50x25m front crawl this morning and a nice 6 miles recovery to close the year. image

... and I thought the weather round my way had been bad!  I normally go around the flooded roads.