Soleus issues not a newbie to minimal

Hi All,

As my post title states I am not a newbie to minimal running. I have been doing so for over 2 years. I run in the merrel trail glove. My problem is that just recently my soleus muscles have been cramping after about 10 miles, then after running theget so tight and extremely painfull. The pain seems to last for the rest of the day but funniliy they dont hurt that much the next day.

I havent changed anything in my style or distance etc so quite stumped.

Anyone had similar issues?

Many thanks

Comments

• I too run in the merrell trail glove image

silly question have you been stretching enough afterwards?

• just thought, sometimes calf pain can be referred pain related to problems with gluteus muscles

worth a tennis ball massage to see if you can find something, or it could be IT band related so foam roller time (i had something similar, not a cramping, but a wierd shooting nerve pain down into the side of my calf that turned out to be IT band related and went with foam roller treatment)

I know you have not changed your style or distance but sometimes just the accumulative effects over time can flare something up, or adhesions can form. If you can afford a sports massage that might help?

purely all suggestions of course image

• I do stretch a lot after running, but when stretching my soleus now it is extremely tight.

Anybody know what muscle soreness imediatly after running means but then its ok in the morning?

• It sounds like normal lactic acid build up, perhaps your workout intensity has changed thus getting nearer your LT threshold. Are you running faster, more intense runs? how are your runs distributed? (eg do you do easy runs, tempo runs, intervals etc)

• I must admit my fitness has increased a lot over the last 3 months and I am running faster. I normally do a couple of 5 milers and a 10 or 15 each week. The 5's are generally quicker. All of my running is on the trails.