Options

Shoe mileage and running style

I've been running regularly for about 7 years and changed my shoes after 500 miles or so. In the last year I switched from a heel landing to mid-foot landing (along with faster and shorter strides). I've now covered more than 1300 miles in my current pair and they are absolutely fine and achieved good PBs at 10K, half and full marathons. Question is: has anyone else had a similar experience with their shoe mileage? I use Asics 21*0 (currently 2160).

I must confess that I've read "Born to Run", "Running with Kenyans" and "Eat & Run" which have influenced but not dictated my changes.

Comments

• Options

I always wondered if midfoot strikers would wear through shoes at the exact same rate as heavy heel strikers but just at a different place on the sole of the shoe. I'm a heel striker - though not heavy - and I wear through the soles of my shoes fairly evenly. In fact I probably wear through the mid-to-forefoot area of the sole slightly before I wear down the heel enough that it makes me want to replace the shoe.

• Options
    touie2touie2 ✭✭✭
    I'm a mid foot striker and always find it is the uppers that wear out first on my shoes, I have very little sole wear!!!
  • Options

Mid foot striker hear and most of my shoes last 1000 miles +

as touie2 says its the uppers that tend to go first.

Not good for the shoes manufacturers but good for my bank balanceimage

• Options

mid foot striker here but i tend to land with my outsole which causes excessive wear here; about 300-400 miles from a pair of shoes.

• Options

mid-foot (ChiRunning); 2000 miles from my oldest shoes so far and the heels almost look new, but the uppers won't last much longer.

• Options