Sub 2:12 marathon - Can I do it?

Comments

• on roastie, and yes, I have run *faster* than 5min/mile (as a total beginner) - I either read or heard recently that you can't increase the speed of a runner, but you can increase their endurance.
  • I didn't give up my degree to focus on this, I left my degree to follow a career in running, in a job that I could live my sport. So yes, I did give up my degree for running!

<<Road Runner promptly slips back out of bitchy mode ;o) >>
  • hee hee on roasties - pantman, daz and i were laughing at the tooting 24 hour race last week about how you bottled out of that challenge from a while ago.....
  • no jon i'm full of admiration.... just hope you dont get disillusioned at any time... if you are so sure, go for it mate
  • If I don't achieve it at the end, then so be it, If I don't try, I'll never know

When being interviewed recently, the defining quality that I gave was persistence - I *never* give up. When walls stand in my way, I burst through them like a round out of a GPMG. If the wall stops me the first time, I'll go at it again and agian until I weaken the wall so much that it collapses before my eyes.

If I have a dream, I will follow it through to the end, if things don't work out, then I'll have something to fall back on. Never was the type to follow convention anyway!
  • lol go for it then.... just didn't want you to look back in 20 years time and think 'well what was the point of that?'
  • Proverbs 16:9 - "We can make our plans, but the LORD determines our steps" - I feel this is sooo true to the changes that are happening in my life at the mo.

Thanks Andy! The admiration is mutual towards yourself for doing 100miles in 24hrs!
  • and how is the job thing going? you moving to the mainland soon then??
  • sooooooo anywaaaaaay, back to the point of this thread.......