Too skiny!

I've been training now regularly for the last 7 or 8 months.  Current regime is:

Mon - Rest

Tue - Speed work/intervals

Wed - Easy recovery run (up to 5 or 6)

Thur - Fartlek (7+ miles)

Fri - Rest

Sat - Parkrun

Sun - Long run (anything from 10 to 20)

The rest days are a rest from running, but I am starting to fill those in with a trip to the gym, at the moment just for a short biking session with steam room and pool after to unwind from the week etc.  Since I was about 16 I think I have pretty much weighed the same, which is around 11 stone.  Since the training though all but the essentials appears to have been stripped away, and although my weight hasnt really dropped, I think basically its just been converted to muscle...maybe...

Anyway, either way, I feel skinnier than before, everything I own is baggy, and I look gaunt!  I'm trying to improve my diet, but if anything I think maybe removing all the crap I used to eat, is probably only adding to the problem.  What I'm wondering now is should I use my gym time to try and build some bulk?  Is this possible whilst maintaining a tough running regime?  Should I look towards using some supplements maybe to help me after the tougher sessions to build some mass?  Or do I just accept that I have chosen the runners path, and that with that comes the body of a teenager!

Thanks

Comments

• out of interest how tall are youimage

• steedeesteedee ✭✭✭

5'11" I think. There or there abouts anyway.

• Ian MIan M ✭✭✭

Depends on how hung up you are on body image I guess.
    11 stone for 5' 11" sounds pretty much normal for an endurance athlete.

• I don't think I'd consider 11 stone to be to skinny for your height, in fact I'd say it sounds just about perfect (I'm around 6' 1" and 11 1/2 stone so similar-ish to you). Of course it depends how (and where) you carry your weight but I'd say as long as you feel fine then you probably are!