Training for both half mararthon and full marathon

This is a slightly tricky one for me, since i am a veteran of about fourteen half marathons, and i am doing my first marathon in April. I am averaging 15 miles very comfortably in my long slow runs at the moment, but i am also doing Brighton half for the third time in Feb, which means i have to keep the speed on. I do Interval, plus some pretty quick 8-9 milers, but then i have to slow it down for the full.

Interesting one. I am focussing on endurance, which means i go slower, but then i do speed work, since i am aiming to do Brighton in about 91 minutes, But then i go slower since when i do Sussex, i need to pace myself out.

Anyone else been in this boat?

Comments

• Yes. Last year I did the Gothenburg half marathon in may and Stockholm marathon three weeks after. In the fall I did Stockholm half marathon in september and Amsterdam marathon in october. Both times I focused on the marathons and just included the half marathons as sessions in my marathon training schedules. The result? New PB on both half marathons! 

According to those who are in the know, long and slow runs also makes you faster on shorter distances so my recommendation, based on this and my experience above, is to focus on the marathon training. You will probably do fine at the half marathon anyway.