Hello, i'm a newbie after some advice please.

Hi all,

Started a running club in the new year. We began with walking for 4 mins and jogging for 2, we are now up to running for 6 mins and walking for 2. This is every Wednesday and I find it gives me great motivation. Only problem is I want to try and get out 3 times a week. I don't have anyone else to go out with and when I try to go out myself I can't last more than one 5 min run! I just get so tired very quickly.  I'm unsure what the problem is, I think it must be in my mind and be the "security blanket" of having others in the same boat as me.

Would anyone have any advice? I've tried listening to music and making sure i'm running at the same pace I am with the group but nothing helps.

Was thinking of downloading a hypnosis download to help but they all look like a scam to be honest. Its not the motivation I have a problem with, its the continuation after i've started.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Suzanne it does tend to feel easier running with people.
    Can i ask, do you chat while you run? If so you may be running your solo runs slightly too fast as you have no one to talk to which will keep you at a nice slow pace.
    Conversly, its also easier to push yourself harder with other people as its a sort of minor competitive thing.
    You should catch up eventually though, try not to compare the two sorts of runs, just enjoy getting out, and dont punish yourself if you dont do the same.
    As you do more runs you will find that no two runs are the same anyway and you will have good days and bad days
    Have you checked to see if there is a parkrun near you that you could attend? www.parkrun.org.uk
    they are very beginner friendly even if you are doing a walk run program and you will have another day to run with other people?