Training plans and tracking progress - thoughts?

Hi,

I am a newbie to these forums, and wondered whether anyone could lend a hand with some thoughts on a few things for me?

I started training as a triathlete a few months ago, and am so far loving every second, so I wanted to get a new, shiny piece of kit so I can satfisy my data needs. image I found the new Garmin Edges online and love the look of them, but wanted your opinions first. I have done a bit of research as I didn't want to just go out and buy one, and the online site, Garmin connect looks pretty nifty too. Seen some information about live tracking with the new cycling GPS',  which looks fantastic, but wondered if anyone had actually used this feature as yet?

What are your thoughts? Would love to hear some opinions before I head out and buy one!

Thanks!

Comments

• Hi Emma

Have you looked at the Garmion 910xt? It doesn't have all the maps etc., but I think it does almost everything else if you add the cadence sensor. Plus you can you use it for running and swimming. image

• Got the 810 and love it, if you plan a course before you set out and tell it that's the course you are using not only will live track show where you are but it will also show where you are headed.
    I know I'd really be find without it but when I set off solo for a long ride it's nice to know hubby can easily see where I am at any time incase of mechanical failure etc. Was definitley comforting to know as I struggled my way across a snowy air field in the middle of no where last week.
    I have a pretty good sense of direction but it's also nice to know that if I just get too tired or the weather is too awful I can hit the home button and it will figure out the quickest way home again for me.
    But it's no use when running or swimming, well acutally you can get a strap to put it on your wrist and run with it but it's huge and I'm so slow running that I'm never too far from home anyway.