Treadmill to roads?

Good morning,

I'm very new at this after having done anything NOT to run for the last 30 odd years, I have now been doing the coach to 5k on a treadmill and am up to week 6.  A friend has asked me to join them on a 3 mile fun run in two weeks and  I wondered if anyone could tell me if it is do-able to change from a treadmill to the roads and what difficulties I am likely to encounter and what to do, to make it easier?

Many thanks in advance.

Sara

Comments

• Thanks David that makes me feel better, someone panicked me by saying it was much harder and would kill my legs after a mile.

I'm going to try my first outdoor one on Friday round holme pierrepont where its nice and flat and see how I go!

• literatinliteratin ✭✭✭

Hi Sara, another Notts runner? Holme Pierrepont can be a bit soul-destroying especially when windy (though nice and flat image). If you go up the river a bit to the Hook nature reserve the paths are a bit softer and might be kinder on the knees.

• Cough.... its taking me a little bit longer than that to do 3 miles but am getting there.

Thanks Literatin, I will give that a go, is it a loop and how far is it?  

Sara

• literatinliteratin ✭✭✭

Don't know about a loop as I normally just run along the river path, but just thought of it as it's very near Holme Pierrepont, if that's local for you, but a bit more sheltered. It's some of the green space in between the residential bit of Lady Bay and the river. The path along there is a bit more compacted earth rather than tarmac.