myfitnesspal

after hearing this mentioned as a great free tool to help monitor food intake and exercise i thought i would look at it today....

seemed ok to use and got given targets to eat that would also change to take into account of exercise.sounds perfect

My problem is that it gives targets of carbs fat protein and sugars etc

the sugar is only 24g for the day..and a small banana is 12 and a small 200ml of apple juice is 23.whilst i know large amounts of either of these is not great for you......surely a small banana and a sml apple juice a day should be able to be accommodated in a healthy eating plan...

Am i doing something wrong........otherwise a pint of 1% fat milk on its own would reach the daily limit and this volume or equivalent in other dairy is recommended for the calcium for older ladies

Comments

• I'm no expert on this site seren but I would think that because it's a diary system that gets you to look at your food intake and make suggestions then 24g is 24g no matter where it comes from - so if you have to cut something, you have to cut something

as for the milk - you could subsititute with calcium supplements if you're concerned about keeping calcium levels up

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭

24g?!  That's less than two teaspoons, in everything.  All day.

(I've just noticed my Waitrose muesli is 23g sugar per 100g, which I easily eat for breakfast!  With milk and sugary coffee!  That takes me up to 9am...)

Where's Sarah?

• phil .it seesm so low that I can't see my self ever working to it.exercise does increase it .

i have been able to have a plateful of chipshop chips tonight as they have no sugar.......not sure that this is going to be the healthiest way for me to go forwardimage

• That does seem very low.

The Guideline Daily Amount of Sugar for adult women is 90g.