Saddle sore!

Can anyone help???  I have spent alot of time on my turbo trainer over the winter, with many hours a week on the tri bars.  I am now so sore with rows of blood blisters on both sides of crease of leg I am rapidly falling out of love with my bike!

I have a prologo WSD saddle which I have been using for a couple of years. (The problems got worse since I increased the number of hours training and started using the tri bars more)  I replaced my shorts buying  a more expensive Campaganlo pair. (my tri shorts are Louis Garnaux)  I use Assos chamois cream.   The problem got so bad that I had to go to the doctor whos only suggestion was to have a couple of months off!!!  Not really an option, and I think that even if I was to take a break the problem would only flare up again as soon as I get back on my bike.

I have looked online at reviews on saddles at Wiggle and Evans, I can't really afford to spend alot of money trying out new saddles.

Can any of you ladies out there help????? advice on shorts or saddles would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you....

Comments

• AliBear30AliBear30 ✭✭✭

I'll get shot for this but since you added the tri bars have you had a bike fit? If you're not in the right position you're going to get saddle sores with any saddle. Also have you ridden out on the roads yet? Road riding is so different to Turbo you might (fingers corssed etc) find out your fine as you are on the roads?
    You could also take a break to let things heal and then carefully use surgical spirits to toughen the skin up before you restart. Although I can understand you not wanting tough skin in those areas too.

Lastly I poitn you to this thread, it might not help but it will make you laugh

http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/forum/triathlon/how-do-you-prevent-a-massacre-in-your-lady-garden/131751.html