0-5k training vs just go for it

Hello all,

I’ve got a complete newbie question here concerning the ‘walk/jog/run training method’ vs ‘just going for it’, if you will forgive me…

I’ve tried to follow a 0-5k training plan a couple of times – usual type, jog 60 secs, walk 90 secs kind of thing but I really don’t seem to get on with it.  A few minutes in and I’m usually bored and fed up of stop/starting etc.

On the otherhand, put me on a treadmill and I can quite happily jog/run, without rest, for a good 10-12 mins at the moment (don’t laugh, that’s good for me!!).

So my question is…is there something hugely more beneficial in doing the walk/jog/run method compared with adding an extra minute or two to each of my ‘go for it’ treadmill jogs?

I’m not training for anything in particular but am someone who likes to see improvement which is probably why I like the latter method as completing that extra minute is a tangible achievement for me, but everything I read suggests beginners are best using the gradual method.

Many thanks!

Laura

Comments

• i think the couch to 5k plans (e.g. NHS) have been successful in getting non runners and those who are not necessarily fit from other sports to make a start with running, whilst avoiding the newbie mistake of sprinting 50m down the street, getting out of breath, and turning back for home thinking that running is not for them.

These plans tend to build up to a point that you're at already, i.e. able to run 10-12 mins. how about you do your 10-12 mins, have a walk break, then do another 10-12 mins. There doesn't seem like much sense of you starting from a 1min jog, 2 min walk stage, if you're already beyond that. Continue from where you are, just keep it up for about 30 mins, inserting a couple of walk breaks, make the breaks shorter and shorter until you're able to jog continuously for 30 mins.