Brighton Marathon 2014

Comments

• Afternoon all

Well 5 miles done is such a lovely day i went out for a run but kiss good bye to the sun because i went out with a pair of running shorts on the last 2 times i did that before Brighton the sun disappeared for a month

Yvonne can you post me the link to shades thread many thanks

• Toby - Under forums - training - shades marathon training - its about the 6th one down the list at the moment

• Lisa123 I'm also struggling to pick a training plan (I'm far too indecisive)! I've been looking at the plans by P&D, because like you said, they seem to have had some really good reviews. They look quite good, with lots of variation, but the mileage seems a bit heavy for me! (This will be my first marathon).

In the past I've used plans from the runningbug website, which as a beginner I found really good - though to be honest I think I'll probably end up mixing elements of a few different ones this time image

My problem is trying to incorporate speed training, as I really neglected it the last time round and my time suffered in the half marathons I did. I'm thinking some shorter quality sessions, as well as easy weeks, will help to avoid injury too - though I've heard lots of people suggest that for a first marathon, speed training is less important than endurance training and LSRs? What do you guys think?

• Toby ive been beaten to it.. thank you khanivore that saves me having to be all technical like (in other words asking daughter how to copy and paste again) image

• Envierose - you could have a look at Daniel's running formula. This sets out the key sessions each week, but allows you to adjust the mileage based on your chosen peak mileage. Not tried it myself and its not straightforward to follow but looks very flexible.
  • Lisa123Lisa123 ✭✭✭