Can I train in this short a time!? PLEASE HELP!

Hi there,

I signed up to the Edinburgh Marathon in September. Being a complete novice I steadily worked on training. I had a bit of a dip around Xmas but then got back on things again. At the end of Feb I ran my first 14 miles (in 2hr 14m) which appeared to strain my achilles quite bad. I attempted a short run every week for two weeks and then decided to leave it for a while, so in total I rested it for just over 4 weeks.

I kind of realised that with the time I had left I wouldn't be able to train for the marathon properly, but assumed I would be able to switch to the half. Obviously having never done anything like this before, I found out the other day that it is a little too late for this! So I have the option of pulling out until next year, or attempting it!? 

I'm a tall slim 26 years old, I would say I have an average level of fitness, and cycle to work most days. However, I've been training for 2 weeks and I only have 5 weeks left till the day. Would it be possible for me to complete it? I'm not looking for any record breaking time, I just want to know if I will be able to make it around in one piece!? And if it's possible, any suggestions on how I should set about training for the next 5 weeks? 

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated image

Many thanks,

Stephen.

Comments

• What other longer runs have you done? If the 14 miles was a lot longer than your previous longer runs, that would explain the injury. If this is the case, then I would say you are probably leaving it too late: the key to getting round a first marathon is getting used to running for 3+ hours, which means regular long runs, up to (by popular consensus) 20 miles, though others will say further. By the sounds of it, you aren't close to this.