Ran London, now got the Manchester marathon on Sunday! Recovery tips?

Hi guys! I'm a new runner and run or charity as I'm partially sighted and want to raise as much as I can for research into sight disorders. I ran the VLM on Sunday - was thrown by the heat and came in at 4:06:06 - I wanted sub 4 hours really. Anyway, foolishly or not, part of my charity bid is to run the Manchester marathon this coming Sunday. My legs are getting less stiff today, got a lightly inflamed post tibial tendon on my right ankle I think, but nothing too major. I have zero experience of running endurance events back to back. Would love some advice on the best ways to recover as much as poss by Sunday. Can I expect to be back to good fitness, or is it going to be a struggle? Anyone had any experience of this? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• I'm doing the same - marathon of the north on Sunday - and I've scheduled 3 small runs approx 3 miles each. Lots of stretching and foam rolling and good food and vitamins.

My training plan had me running back to back (over weekends) mara's so I'm pretty confident I can do it.

How do you feel? May be good to loosen the body and get a recovery run in if you're ok? Massage ?
  • Also-ranAlso-ran ✭✭✭

Hi, I did something similar last year and did plenty of walking, and a bit of stretching after warming some of the muscles up on a roller.  This really helped with the recovery, along with trying to get some rest and good food. Resting and icing any inflamed muscles is a priority

You won't shake off the full impact of the previous marathon - there will no doubt be tiredness and stiff muscles lurking even towards the end of the week, so I would avoid any significant runs. I did one 2 mile run the day before the second marathon, more to convince myself I could run!!