How am i doing and hello

hiya guys,

Just jumping straight in here to say hello and introduce myself as a new runner.

a quick bit of background on me ...i was 22.5 stones on a 5.3 frame...wittled that down to 14.7 stones over the last two years ..spent the last year teaching myself to stableise and keep it off...now i'm looking to average the rest out with fitness namely running and yoga (the yoga i've done before) i'm not overly interested in loosing more weight or not too much more at least (i'm an actor by profession and need to maintain the same look for work)

soooo ...back to the running....Put my trainers on for the first time 15th february 2013 and am due to run my first 10K in bristol on 5th May - next sunday!

time is pretty precious and working life means there is no chance of routine so i'm doing the best i can and just getting out on the road...i have been averaging two shorter 3-4.5 mile runs and a longer run at the weekend... i did my last long run before the race last night and did 7.2 miles so i know i'm ok for distance now...but i'm slow slow slow... i'm happy with this for the bristol 10k ..i dont care how long it takes just happy to complete and expecting to finish in 1h20mins... but i need to start looking at speed work after this race as i'm hoping to do another in septenber and then go for a half marathon next year

any advice on speed work and also on buiolding my core strength would be amazing and of course if anyone is in bristol on sunday ...holla!

ange

Comments

• Are you Dawn French really? Well done with the weight loss. Hope the race goes well. Before speed work I would think some strength work might be a good idea, running fast puts a lot of strain on your bones and it's easy to get injured. Find someone who knows about weight training to show you haw to squat and dead lift.

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

Dawn French. Reminds me of my sister.

Well done Poirot.

🙂