I hate my job

Hi all,
I've been working in IT for about 10 years or so and wanna get out of IT. I'd love to move into something like podiatry, physio, sports science, sports massage or the like. But at 32 I don't have 5 years to train, qualify etc.... for a new career

What I'd love to do is a two year course in something like podiatry/physio and set up a practice.

Has anyone here done such a thing, anyone know of good courses, how to qualify. Any suggests on avenues to follow.

Suggestions are most welcome.

Comments

• JjJj ✭✭✭
    lol

This one deserves its own forum, I think!

There are quite a few people on these forums who have done/are doing just that, bri - and for what it's worth: at 32 you have plenty of time to do whatever you want to change your life. It takes planning and determination, but you can do it if you really want to.

good luck.

:o)
  • Podiatry is a 3 year degree course, as is physio. Alternatively you could do them part time and work part time and it would take 4.5 years. Unlike ordinary degrees you do get some funding - though don't expect to live on it. Or you could do a sports massage/sports injury course and try and get work in that. In terms of setting up a practice you'd be looking longer term after qualifying - I think there are probably better prospects in podiatry in terms of making money - probably a greater scope to physio as a profession (although that hardly matters as you wont end up doing everything).
  • I'm currently studying sports nutrition in my own time as a corospondance course ---- looking to set up as a dietician and sports nutritionist

I'm still a bit away yet tho'

• Also – you need to do your market research: -

To see if there is a need for the service you are going to offer within your catchments area
    To ensure that your catchments area is not saturated with others offering the service
    To check out the opposition

and so on ...

A good way of doiing this is as part of prepearing a business plan