Comrades 2014

Comments

• I'm no expert, but I would suggest the plyometrics should focus on single leg exercises - ie, not jumping. My reading suggested downhill lunges (I have a steep driveway, but you could also do it off a bench) and a variety of exercises designed to put most of your weight through each leg individually, because that is of couse what you will be doing on the day. Although its not plyometric, single leg squats are also a good idea.

• Hello peeps.

Want to do Comrades next year, inspired by following Fidos buildup & run last year and others the last two. Had enough of training flat out for a traditional road marathon for awhile, 3 ultras booked for next 4 months but need some target/ goal for the next year.

Comrades and hopefully a BR is it so here I am.

Tons of great info from Fido and Bike It and others on 38 things to do and also coping with the down run... great info 

All those weighted squats, box jumps, single leg & split squats tonight feel more worthwhile now, if bloody painful doing image

Ideal events to do Dec to April to build up?

Nice to see Minni here too.

• IF I enter next year....no idea why I pretend I won't......it will be a strange one to train for. I am currently at 47 marathons. Brighton marathon next year just so happens to fall on my 50th birthday so it would be mad to not do my 50th on my 50th as such a cool thing to do.

I ran 17 last year to get ahead of the game as have planned on Brighton being my 50th since they released the date. I did 17 as I thought I would be unable to walk let alone run after Comrades but am happy to report and running better than ever.

I can now only enter two marathons for this year and I want them to be good ones i.e. scenic, cross country. I have so far chosen and entered New Forest and am just about to enter Salisbury 5.4.3.2.1. Was going to enter Portsmouth but it is the day after my Xmas work do....NOT a good idea.