starting from scratch

hello to everyone,

so im 42 and excited by the idea of triathlon.

however, im jumping into the unknown and  my knowledge of triathlon is that it involves swimming, running and cycling. so where do i begin?

do i start with improving what im ok at? one area at a time? a bit of each sport regularly? this is the hurdle i first need to get over so i can have some structure.

there are so many books/ websites and threads out there.

so, if anyone will offer some practical advice to a complete beginner it will be much appreciated.

cheers

stephen 

Comments

• What do you do at the moment? Can you swim? Do you own a bike? How far do you ride regularly? How much running do you do currently?

If you think you can or you think you can't you're probably right.
  • Helloooo, there are many programmes about. look at beginnertriathlete or amateurendurance. Something along those lines. Find an event to focus on. Perhaps end of Sept. What are you managing training wise a the mo? Also, pop into the shorter tri thread for a bit more input! 

• fat buddhafat buddha ✭✭✭

I would also suggest that, before you pop your cherry at tri, go and watch one one in action (in case you haven't)

• im running around 2-3 miles every couple of days at the moment.

ive recently taken up some sessions at the pool to improve front crawl technique as my swimming isnt that great.

i own a bike...........well its a start i guess.

mrs.digger, which shorter threads? 

• Mrs NoelMrs Noel ✭✭✭

I'd suggest looking at some of the online training plans to get an idea of balance. You're best off working on all of the disciplines bups give some focus to your weakest.

Can you join a club? That will give you access to lots of advice and training sessions. 

• Sorry, there is a thread on this forum called 'Training for the shorter Tri'. Have a gander and a chat on there.

Are you aiming for a particular event?