Does everyone carry water while running in this heat?

I have been running for around 2 years and have never carried water on runs. Even on long runs of 20 miles I have so far been OK just making sure I am properly hydrated before the run and then drinking water afterwards. I have also never carried water during races but have taken drinks from water stations for HMs and for the marathon I did.

However on my long run today, I had set out to do 10 miles but seemed to hit a wall around 8 miles. Never experienced this before, not even in the mararhon I did. My head felt quite hot and my whole body willed me to stop, which I did. I'm thinking this may be due to dehydration.

Just wondered how many of you carry water for runs of more than an hour in this weather? I'd rather not have to but think maybe in this heat it's the only option (apart from going out earlier or much later).

Comments

• GraemeKGraemeK ✭✭✭

Don't normally on long runs but today I used a different route and stopped at shops to buy water, I find it less hassle than carrying a bottle and it's usually cold.

• camelbaks are one option.........I have a camelback bottle which sits in a comfortable waist pouch.........i don't even notice it.or just take some money and plan your route around shops.its definitely too hot to go far without water at the moment

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

Water in stomach before leaving the house. At least 100ml for each mile run after.

I carry 500ml in a 'bum bag'.

I'm fortunate that I live in an area where bottles of water are disguarded in all sorts of places. Some bottles haven't even been opened.

I take some precautions on the contents and wash the areas of contact before partaking.

Very handy. Many a run has been extended on account of this waste.

🙂

• SlowkoalaSlowkoala ✭✭✭