Paris Marathon 2014

Comments

• DannirrDannirr ✭✭✭

Kaz - I'm doing a 4 week taper, following a well known plan.  Interestingly, there's nothing over 10 miles. I think that's kinda weird - might extend some of those to 12-15 miles.

• Interesting Danni.... Now I am questioning mine even further! It has a b2b 24 and 20  three weeks out, then a 20 and 5 two weeks out. Think I ,ay rejig so the 24-20 are 4 weeks out and reduce the 20-5 to 15-5?? Thoughts??image

• Eggyh73Eggyh73 ✭✭✭

Dannirr - Would the four week taper with low mileage not be working off the extra down time being more valuable at this point in training than time on your feet for an event like Comrades?

Kaz - I wouldn't run a 20 two weeks before a marathon to avoid fatigue, so I'd question why you would do it for an ultra.

• DannirrDannirr ✭✭✭

Kaz - I'm no expert, but I do think you need lots of recovery time from that kind of mileage. I think the 24/20 3 weeks out is probably ok (RR is doing a 36 3 weeks out from Comrades), but a 20/5 2 weeks out seems too much.  

• DannirrDannirr ✭✭✭

Eggy - Perhaps.  I think the thinking of this plan, unlike a traditional marathon plan where I am doing longer runs still until 2 weeks prior to the race, is that this plan is designed for a safe Comrades finish and not to race the event.  These 4 weeks are still decent mileage - each is about 30 miles until the last week.

• Ok thanks..... Trying to trust the plan but....!image

• Oops, 2015 for the Outlaw half! In 2025 I'll be drawing my pension.

And I'll be doing full IMs by then....

• DannirrDannirr ✭✭✭

Eggy - here is the final month's plan and explanation:

http://www.alsoranrunners.info/May14CG.htm

• Eggyh73Eggyh73 ✭✭✭

Dannirr - That makes sense to me. You've put in a huge amount in training, so a longer taper before an event like that seems sensible to me in terms of starting injury free and rested. Well as sensible as signing up to run 89km can be!