advice needed please

I have recently returned to running(slowly) after a long layoff, and have signed up for a 10 mile run in November. I am steadily building up my long runs an am up to 6 miles now, but my pace is quite slow. I can run 4 miles @ 10:50 miling, but long runs are 11:20 mpm. 

I want to be quicker and build my mileage up as well, do I press on with the long runs at a slow pace, or ditch them for more shorter quicker runs? Any advice greatly appreciated. 

Comments

• Keep the long slow runs in once a week - definately made the most difference for me speed wise over the long run as the mileage and endurance built up.  Shorter faster ones in between to train all areas.  What you do depends on how many runs a week you can do, and what your current weekly mileage is.  I'm no expert but the advice on here is pretty good and I'm sure someone can give you more details with a bit more information from you.

• long run once a week, no more than nine miles, nice and relaxed, don't burn yourself for the next month or so. Plenty of five miles, last couple of miles pushing yourself, really pushing on your final 250 metres. First couple of weeks in October 8/9 miles at pace but not flat out, make yourself work, then easy 7/8 miles as your long run. Keep the 5 miles up at pace until 10 days prior to the race. You will be dragged along by others and if you have pushed yourself to 8/9 miles, 10 will be a walk in the park.

• Thanks for the advice guys, it has really given me some key things to focus on,  and a plan to help me towards my goal. 

• Yup, good advice from Daeve and. Emilys Dad (though am not convinced about the 'walk in the park' bit lol).

Good luck and remember the thrill of the race will help push you that bit harder/faster. I'm a slow runner and training for a Marathon in September averaging 11:45 min miles in training! I did a half a couple of weeks ago in 2:13 (10:10mm's).