Getting back in to it...

Hi all,

Just a quick one. To give a bit of context, I used to be a half decent athlete 11 years ago and remember being asked to run 1500km for county having won my local school trials on a background of no running at all. I used to play football 6 times a week to a semi-pro standard, which obviously kept me fit! I had a freind who tried to get me into running seriously, but I just wasn't motivated back then. Over the last 6 weeks however, with a major exam looming (incredible stress levels!) I have for the first time started running 'properly'. Bearing in mind I have run approximately 5 times in the last 6 years, I thought having run approx 20-25 miles for the last 5 weeks, I would give a 5km race a go. Being inherently very competitive, I pushed myself quite hard and managed a 17:50 (which I understand is a useful time!).

Currently I work as a junior Dr and have one young child, plus another on the way...so my time is very limited. Realistically I can only manage a max of 30 miles per week. Having now caught the bug (and I never thought I'd find it so enjoyable and such a stress reliever), I would like to aim to do some more 5/10 k races and obviously improve (which I accept, will be limited by my max mileage). I just wondered, briefly, how I make the most of the runs I do have being almost a complete novice!?

Very grateful for any advice received!

Comments

• First of all, congratulations on recognising your addiction, now we can offer support and advice to help you. 30 miles a week is not a bad place to start from, and for 5k 10k target distance that's a good range to average. Clearly you aren't really anticipating wanting to develop the big endurance capacity for HM or marathon, but I'd still think that one long run per week would offer benefits. Long in the context of your aim would be up to 10 miles, run slowly and for fun, preferably off road.