Starting from scratch, minimal shoes from the beginning?

Hi everyone! Complete novice here, so bear with me...

I've been out of running for 18 months due to a foot injury (tibialis posterior). Before this, I had been running for 5 months around 3-4 times a week up to 3 miles a time. I had been building up slowly due to being very unfit and previous injuries. I was running in shoes recommended by the shop for mild overpronators following a gait analysis. Anyway, while recovering from the injury I noticed that my foot hurt less when I was walking around in a pair of very cheap, flimsy, 10 year old fashion trainers that the insoles fell out of years ago. Now I've done my first three test runs in them too (1km) and so far, so good. I'm wondering if I should get myself some minimal/barefoot running shoes but I don't know much about this subject. Most guides I've read deal with transitioning, can I run in them from the start? Is there a good guide to them anywhere? I do a mixture of trail and road running but my long term goal is cross country running. My top priority is to not get injured again, it's made me very sad not being able to run!

Also, is there a rough guide to how quickly I should up my distances? I'm much more CV fit than muscle fit if that makes sense so I find it hard to judge. Also very injury prone.

Any help and advice will be gratefully received, especially where injury avoidance is concerned!

- Lindsay.

Comments

• Thanks for the reply Flob (great name image), I've done about 2 months power walking twice a day including hills and about 2 weeks incorporating short bursts of running. Got a bit scared by your 25k running program but googled it and realised it's couch to 5k - much more sensible image

Will try and do some research into the different 'drop' of shoes then, running shoes seem to need a degree to figure out these days. I wish I knew where my current trainers fit in, I don't want to go up to come back down if you know what I mean!