Getting Ahead of Plan

I've been running for about 6 months now and haven't been terribly focussed about it until I was persuaded by a friend into signing up for the Cambridge Half Marathon in March 2014. After reading a bit online I put together a training plan for three days a week based on two shorter runs and a long, slowish one at the weekend. I've been very careful about trying to avoid injury by warming up, not trying to go as fast as possible and slowly increasing the mileage.

More recently, I've been finding that on the long slowish runs I feel like I've got more in the tank. This week I did two 5k runs in the week per the plan and today was supposed to do 8k, but ended up carrying on a bit further and did 10k. Roughly how much further is it OK to do before I start to risk overuse injury?

For background info, I ran something like 25k per week at school until I discovered beer, girls and fags at Uni all of which I then undiscovered when I got married and had kids five years ago. I'm now 38 and weigh 75kg.

Thanks in advance for any help or tips you can give.

GazM

Comments

• Seems like you have a sensible plan to build up slowly. Why not just repeat the week you have done and see how that goes. Increasing the distance by 2k on the long run is the safe way to go about things. No need to put any speed in yet and if you need to take some time out for illness/life, just restart with slightly shorter runs for a week and build up slowly again.

Good luck you should be fine for a HM in March.

• Thanks Steady!