Tri newbie

I'm running in FLM next April, my first marathon ever. I know zero about Triathlons yet from the little I've read I know I would like to take part in one, ideally in 2004. But I'm not sure of which Tri event or when. Or should I even be considering a tri now ie wait until FLM is over?

My background is as follows:
- swimming: did 2500m swim for charity in about 80 mins (front crawl though did a bit of breast-stroke towards the end). Have now stopped to focus on running.
- biking: from Jan'03 till Aug'03 was cycling upto 60 mins a day but have reduced this to concentrate on running.
- running: As a heel-striker fastest is prob. 13 miles in about 1:48, 10km in about 50mins. I hope to improve as I've switched to the POSE running technique now.

All help, advice warmly appreciated.

NRG-B

Comments

• you sound ready to me :)
  • nrg-bnrg-b ✭✭✭
    lol! - doubt it if I could do them all straight after one and other! Could u recommend some events for next year?
  • Tri a sprint triathlon, usualy 400m swim, about 18k on bike followed and then 5k run. You sound like you could do it already to me. One thing I will suggest though is to practice cycling then getting off the bike and going straight into a run. Your legs will feel like jelly, guaranteed!!!.
    There a great day out and are all over the country throughout the summer months, so depends where you live. Give it a go...
  • nrg-bnrg-b ✭✭✭
    Icedog: Hey thanks! I'll try to locate some sprints around London and the SouthEast. I have a whole list of naive questions (eg who looks after your bike when you start the running session?) Can u recommend any good websites or FAQs?
  • awww.. sweet. i love naive newbies.