MBNA Chester Marathon 2014

Comments

• Hi Lord Boz well done,  sounds like a good plan ! I'm still ticking over with long wkly run of 8 miles and at last managed a tempo run today ...woohoo !! .. not been able to do one for a month due to asthma glad to say seems to be getting under control again image Looking forward to starting mara training yet slightly scared at same time image !!

• Jimbob987Jimbob987 ✭✭✭

Hi Lord Boz, hope you don't mind me jumping in. I have looked at the Novice 2 and was looking to have a go at my first marathon and 4.30 was the time I was looking at. Any idea what sort of long run times that equates to in the training plan? 10.17 a mile is the race pace so would I be correct in assuming long runs at around 11.00 a mile? I am just a newbie to all of this and have only just ran my first half so any help would be gratefully received.

• I've read previously that you should go from 30 to 90 seconds slower per mile than your race pace. Which for 10.17 is 10.47 to 11.47 min per min. At the moment I'm still unsure as to what pace to run at as I don't think I'll know until I've done a 16 mile plus run.
  • MadbeeMadbee ✭✭✭

Hi guys, I'm definitely in for this one now image  After the kerfuffle of Edinburgh I am looking forward to a well-organised and transparent raceimage

Lord Boz, I think an appropriate guideline for long runs is generally 10-15% slower than marathon pace, which is 11.30- 12.00 pace, approximately.  I would start at the slightly slower end, and build up to the faster if you are able at the end of the run.

• NjordNjord ✭✭✭

Hi everyone!  A heads up that the Chester Marathon training runs along the greenway start up again on Sunday.  More info here.

These are a series of free, informal "pop along and join in" training runs provided by the Chester Marathon organisers.  These give you the opportunity to run with others and chat about their training, gaining valuable advice, tips and encouragement at the same time.