Options

Last Ditch Attempt to get fit for London Marathon

2»

Comments

• Options

scottles - I think you have arrived at the point that irritates a lot of people on here where you have come on and asked for some advice, people have given you the advice based on all their experience which is what you asked for, then your posts seem to be saying, 'I don't like that advice because I think my way is better even though I have no experience and that is why I asked for some advice in the first place.'

• Options

I don't know how many marathons we've got round between us but there's a reason you're getting the advice you're getting.  As SFF says, if you were never going to follow it why ask?

It's not like there are any inconsistencies - we have all said the same thing.

I'll say what I've said to others - it's your body and your pain. If you're determined to make it worse than it needs to be, it's entirely up to you.

• Options

I will take the advice, just need to get my head round it.

To summarise, I probably shouldn't bother doing the race at all, wait till I don't have a fractured rib, train better and do another one in the future.

If the above is not an option for whatever reason (good or bad) then I should adopt run/walk from the beginning, perhaps four on, 1 off.

The only problem I have with this, is that it is untried, and I don't know if I will be able to run 4 miles after 1 mile walking after say 15 miles............... I am then stuck with walking a long way. But I guess I am anyway!

• Options
    PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭
    scottles wrote (see)

The only problem I have with this, is that it is untried, and I don't know if I will be able to run 4 miles after 1 mile walking after say 15 miles............... I am then stuck with walking a long way. But I guess I am anyway!

It's untried for you, but what people are pretty much universally saying from experience is that this is your best bet.