Eden Project Marathon

Hey image

I'm doing the Eden Project Marathon later this year. I'm new to running, and I'm not sure my ideology behind choosing this race, but it ticks two boxes - my first marathon, and somewhere I'd like to visit.

I'm just wondering if anyone has completed this marathon in the past, and what type of terrain am I to expect; to help with my prep. Also is it likely I will be last in a field of just 300? Should I have selected a more mainstream race? Will I be the only amateur in a field of professionals? 

Thank you.

Comments

• MuttleyMuttley ✭✭✭

I did this one 4 years ago, and I don't think much has changed since.

The course is challenging with plenty of ups and downs. Terrain is a mixture of tarmac and trail. The scenery is amazing, from lunar china clay quarries to a lush green valley.

Dunno if you'll be last because you didn't give a time but I wouldn't worry. It's not a field full of emaciated racing snakes and there are plenty of real ordinary people who are slightly apprehensive. I did it in 4 hrs 30 something and was nowhere near last.

It's a cracking event in a fantastic setting. The year I did it we got a medal the size of a dinner plate, if that motivates you image

• MuttleyMuttley ✭✭✭

And a pasty. And a beer image

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    Brilliant race. I did it in 2011 and will be back this year.

Hilly but very scenic. And the pasty and pint is a bonus.
  • MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    I think entry to the domes is included with the race entry so you can have a look around after the race.
  • So glad this was the choice for my first marathon now image

Did the Great Manchester Run, and have the Southport half as the next step before this one. I've really fallen in love with running.