Race to the Stones 2015

14567810»

Comments

• Kritter , I did the 100k and it was great . My usual distance Is 50 mile so this was a nice extra bit . Can't fault the organisation & was a great atmosphere , fab weather ( I like it hot ) and a generally all round good event . Particularly for those not confident on nav side of things . You'll enjoy it image
  • I did my first marathon in October and I really enjoyed it so I’m looking for my next challenge! After vowing to never to do an ultra, I’m slowly changing my mind...

I keep looking at this race and as a complete ultra novice I have a million questions to ask.

Is it good for beginners? From what I can see the support seems awesome which is really appeals to me as it makes it a bit less terrifying!

What have been peoples experiences of doing the 100km and the 50km? I like the idea of doing it over two days and camping but I’m having visions of waking up on Sunday dreading running again.

And training!? Where do you even begin? Back to back long runs? I’m not much of a trail runner but would definitely like to do more of it, I live in the city centre with no trails close by and I don’t drive. Would I be fine road running during the week and getting the bus or train out to places at the weekends for my long runs? Has any one followed a particular training plan? From what I’ve read training is more about time on your feet rather than aiming for distance...

Eek! Temptation is building...