Might Contain Nuts - The Welsh Trail Running Series 2015

Comments

• SideBurnSideBurn ✭✭✭
    Dank-art wrote (see)

I didn't think there was a lot of navigation required????, i have no experience yet of navigating with compass! Getting worried now! image

It is not a navigation exercise; I have not had a problem and I can get lost on a 10k! 

• T RexT Rex ✭✭✭

Dank - I personally think something like Three Forts would be ideal preparation.  Quite a bit of climbing and just the right time before your ultra.  Go for it.  Can also recommend Neolithic.  11 miles of tank tracks on Salisbury Plain should help you prepare for the stony bits!  Doesn't have all that much ascent though.

Not meant to be a navigation exercise but could become one!

• T RexT Rex ✭✭✭

I'd originally entered Rounds 1 and 2 but both have clashed with other priorities so now only doing Round 3.

Does anyone know how that MCN 100 went was it last year or 2013?  Did it take place?

I have plans for an own challenge in the Beacons, but not divulging it at this time.  Could be several years away yet.  Suffice to say that a lot of recceing is going to be needed.

• Dank-artDank-art ✭✭✭

Thanks Trex, yes I think i'll go for it, looks quite a challenge too and means i can try out my race gear for Brecons

Regarding GPS and navigation for Brecons, will Iphone be ok, is there a decent signal or is compass and maps the only way if things go awry!?

• T RexT Rex ✭✭✭

There is a mandatory kit list to look at.  Don't know much about new-fangled gadgets like iphones but I expect one will be fine.  I'd get a waterproof case.

• GeeeMGeeeM ✭✭✭

MCN 100 didn't happen, there wasn't enough interest in it... I marshalled at MCN3 last year and was chatting about it then. They've also dropped the old "Wye 50" from Round 3 and replaced it with a Black Mountains route. There wasn't enough interest in that route either...