Request for back to back 15 mile races training advice

Hi everyone

My first post here having only just joined.

I am doing the half lake run around Lake Balaton in Hungary as a pair March 21-22. To do that I will have to run 2x15 mile races on the Saturday and the Sunday as part of a team - thought that the full event was a bit much for me this time!

My question is what sort of training programme should I follow? 

I have been running for about 4 years, finish half marathons at about 1:45 and completed the Dublin marathon in October just gone. 

Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated. 

Many thanks and Happy New Year

Comments

• VDOT52VDOT52 ✭✭✭
    I would guess that a marathon training plan would be the way to go as it will help you build / keep endurance. As you are essentially doing 2 halves I would suggest you will need to make a conservative effort on the Saturday and then go for it on the Sunday if you have it in you.

Practicing doing pairs of semi long runs at the weekends would be an obvious way of ensuring that the body is ready for it, but I don't think you can prepare it for racing all out 2 days in a row, hence suggesting you take Saturday easy.

An expert will probably be along shortly though!!

Good luck!
  • Keith LKeith L ✭✭✭

Different people react differently to running races two days in a row. Many do find it difficult to race both and I have seen people race the first and take the second easy or the other way around. A few people can race both.

The main training will be building up double weekends. Doing maybe 10-12 on the Saturday and then the same or longer on the Sunday.Personally I wouldnt go much above 16 miles or so in training in any oen run.  

• Gideon, Keith