Increaing general pace

Hi All,

I have recently started running again after 6 years of not.

Whilst at uni I started to get into running a little and did a half in 1:47 followed by a 10k in 50 mins.....I was running outside of events too and at the gym....Its the same old sad story that I graduated and threw everything towards work.

6 years later and I am 4 stone heavier but have just recently decided to start up again and I am well and truly hooked....I have started looking for events and have started going to Parkrun which is fantastic. I have also put enquiries into local running clubs to train more seriously.

I have probably been training for 6 weeks now and have been running 3-4 times a week, usually between 2-5 miles. My mile pace has reduced down from about 10.5 mins to 9.5 mins. DOes anyone have any simple techniques on how to increase pace?

Comments

• VDOT52VDOT52 ✭✭✭
    There is a beginners section with just about every piece of info you will ever need.

All I will add is- enjoy!
  • Mark,

Sounds great. But honestly honestly honestly, it took you 6 years to get out of shape. I really recommend you don't try and regain it all too quickly.

3-4 times a week for 2-5 miles is more than enough... and if you're going for 9.5 minute miles then I honestly think you're doing a little bit too much... given your previous half and 10K times and now increased weight.

On returning to exercise, your heart and lungs will recover quickly... indeed it seems they've already come a long way, but you're imposing repeated stresses with every step on your bones, tendons etc. and it takes many months for these to adapt to the regular new stresses you're imposing  (and without putting too fine a point on it, the stresses are a lot bigger now than they were 6 years ago!).