Virgin runner

Hi All,

I am extremely new to the joys of running having done my first R/W this morning. I ran 5 (just) and walked for about 10. I plan to do this 4 times a week increasing a bit each week. I have always harboured a desire to be a runner but previous attempts have involved jogging to exhaustion and then never being able to face it again! Hope to keep it up this time as I felt OK today. This site is really motivational and it's great to see that not every other person on the roads is a natural.

Comments

• Good on you.
  • Keep running deeplydippy, I only started running in March. First time I went out I managed to run for five minutes before I had to walk. I just kept going, getting further and further until eventually I could run a respectable distance without walking.

Last week I competed in my first race, the GNR, 13.1 miles, and I ran all the way.

• Ditto to above. Walk/run/walk/run...that's how I started. Still a beginner, and I don't think anyone is really a nutural runner. It takes work but it's so liberating.
  • You can do it Dippy!
  • keep at it! I started running in June and yesterday I ran for a whole hour; covered 9K so felt real sense of achievement
  • Hi Dippy - it's how I started too, although I didn't manage 5 mins first time out! So you're doing well already. Keep up the good work...
  • Dippy, - Know how you feel, stopped smoking last Xmas and took up running. Started the same format as you run/walk now up to 10 miles in one go, never thought I would get there!
  • Addictive isn't it ? Just like evil pixie says - I too nealry died likened myself to a asthmatic elephant after 2 mins of my first run outside but now enjoy myself and thanks to encouragement from other formites have joined a local running club and go out plodding with the other beginners - I too started with a 5km - race for life - felt so good crossing that finish line wanted to keep going - keep up the good work and enjoyment as thats the key i think