working at it slowly

Comments

• Hi Garr, welcome!

if you're a total beginner, even though you have a good level of fitness from other activities, you may find that you're pushing yourself too much by running 7 miles at this point.

Running is so high impact, you often get to a point where your cv fitness far outstrips your muscular/skeletal fitness (for want of better words!).

You might find that by dropping your mileage for a while, and concentrating on building up a good, solid foundation for future running, you'll get more out of it?

Just a suggestion!

I've spoken to lots of cyclists who have excellent levels of cv fitness, but who find running really tough.

Hope this helps

Het :0)
  • hi Garr, good to hear from you

basically the thread is for anyone who wants to drop in and natter

I echo what Het says, if you can do 7 a 10 race is certainly doable, but I should build up to the distance carefully, and remember enjoying yourself is THE most important thing

trinity1 is doing the Wymondham 10 in Norfolk on Sunday. I know, cos I'll be following her round!
  • Garr,

Useful advice from Hetfinch there, please don't try to do too much too soon!

In common with you, when I started running it was a mental barrier as much as anything else. How could all these people run for so long, I wondered?

Improvement came when I started running with other people. It doesn't have to be a running club (most of these have beginners' sections, or have people who are willing to spend time with newbies), it can just be a friend or acquaintance who is willing to run with you. Having someone to chat to on the way does two things:-

a) takes your mind off any "discomfort"
    b) stops you running too fast - if you can't keep up a comfortable conversation, just SLOW DOWN!!

Again, listen to Het. Take it easy and don't do too much. Reward yourself (Mars bar, cup of tea, or something) after every run, you'll soon be enjoying it as much as we are.