Marathon in 11 weeks!!

Hi 

I am meant to be running a marathon in 11 weeks The Steyning Stinger. I have had so much going on I have barely trained but have been running regular for years. I am a fitness instructor, and teach 9 spin classes 3 body conditioning classes and 5 yoga classes a week. If I start training properly now is it too late? And will my classes act as cross trainin? I do a lot with them! Thanks

Comments

• A spin class is bugger all like running 26 miles - trust me ! image

When you run - what is the length you do ?

You need to work up to at least 20 miles I reckon to do a half decent attempt. So you need to work back from there. You also need to taper down - so you have about 9 weeks to work up from your longest run being X miles to 20 miles.

26 miles is a loooooong way if you've not trained well.

Good luck !
  • Hi

Thank you. On average I have been doing 15-20 miles a week for about four years. The last 5/6 months however have been hell, so my training had gone to pants! I just don't want to get injured because of my work! I don't care about a finish time etc... I have done like tons of halls but only one other full, years ago....
  • Ok - that's not as bad as I feared then.

Ok so if you had the longest run in week 1 as 4 miles and add 2 miles to that per week - you'd get to 20.

Then carry on with another 3 runs or so a week - one shorter and faster, one 4 miler and one medium length run that bridges the gap between the long run and the rest of the runs each week.

Something like that anyway = and run them easy. Your cardio system will be in tip top shape - but your running muscles will be lagging behind.
  • I would say you wont have a taper and reading that description it wont be a pleasant experience assuming its this one. "This undulating/hilly race takes place on the South Downs between Worthing and Shoreham-by-Sea. The route covers countryside and roads, including four hills (or 'stings') up towards the top of the Downs."