heart rate %

2»

Comments

• So who is the the Heart Rate Training for the compleat idiot by please? I think i had better get a copy....
  • Eldest,

the book is by John L Parker and, as many people have, I got my copy from Amazon.

I can't recommend it highly enough. When I began 4 months ago I was doing 3 miles at 12 min / mile under recovery ceiling. Now I can do a 13 mile run at under 10 mins / mile and stay under recovery ceiling.

Best of luck.
  • Action Man

You are now obviously living up to your name! thanks for the recommendation, I shall definitely be buying the book!

• Hi All,

I'm new to running, but I've been cycling competitively since 1989 and with a HRM since 1991.

No-one has mentioned 'perceived exertion', and I wonder if it is commonly used in running circles ?

If we're talking about 70% being the "recovery ceiling" (as mentioned by RJK above), then I imagine that the associated perceived exertion should be "moderate / not hurting / feel like you could easily go faster / able to hold a conversation with your training partner". Cyclists most commonly refer to it as 'level 2' and it forms the bulk of endurance training.

So, rather than getting hung up about wildly differing formulae, or even the various methods which exist measuring MHR, I would suggest trying to run along at a pace which matches the exertion level you're aiming for, and then reading off your HR for future reference.

So for example, if you want to go out for a "recovery ceiling" run, get out there until you perceive your exertion to be "moderate, etc ...", and then make a note of your HR.

Of course, it might make you wonder why you need a HR for that kind of session if you're going to judge pace by perceived exertion anyway ... and perhaps you'd be right to ask ;-)

I'm all for technical aids in sport, but sometimes, your senses will serve you just as well, if not better.

Tony