London Marathon 2017, 21.4 Stone in January.

Afternoon all,

So in January i looked down at the scales to see 21.4 stone lurking there, i have since managed to drop down to 18.6 but seem to have hit a wall there. My exercise to this point was football for an hour once a week and maybe the odd walk. I should note i am a 6foot (exactly) tall bloke mid twentys

I have signed up to do the London Marathon 2017 and have a confirmed place with a charity to do so, so i do have plenty of time on my side (ish)

I started training on Monday and managed to half jog/ half walk 2 miles in around 27 minutes, probably jogging for half of that distance but not been able to keep it up.

I would love some advice on what the best way for me to train would be, am i better going for a long walk instead of a run? am i better in the gym 2 times a week doing some weight work, out on a bike? or just keep jog/walking untill its simply jogging and carry on that way..

What kind of equiptment do i really need to get my hands on, i have some decent enough running shoes, bluetooth earphones and endomondo on my phone.

Honestly any and all advice is massively appreciated i want to be able to get fit whilst raising money for a fantastic charity.

Comments

• Well done on the weight loss...Jeep at...just be careful as you increase exercise you don't over compensate for the exercise and eat more..

I would start getting into a routine now and build up slowly...download one of the coach to 5k plans and follow it..run walking is fine...

Once you have achieved that find a 10 k programme and follow that...it's about building up slowly so hopefully you will have time to look at the half marathon programmes before starting on a marathon one around Christmas...

Don't worry about pace ...keep it slow and easy....

I would look at local clubs...so many of them cater for complete beginners now on run/walk schedules and it's more fun with other especially in winter when cold dark and wet..

Good luck