Options

Asthma and running

Comments

• Options
    i was diagnosed 2 weeks ago with asthma brought on by colds and flu. I haven't run for about 6 -7 weeks, the longest break since I started running. I'm quite nervous about starting up again - I would be grateful for any words of encouragement!
  • Options
    jacqueline....I'm relatively new to this condition too...as you'll see from my previous posts.

The main thing I've learnt so far is that there is not one single answer to how we deal with asthma....there are many. What works for one person may not work for another, so we have to find out what works for us and stick with it...I haven't found my difinitive answer yet.

One thing that it really really encouraging tho is that there are lots of us on here that have asthma to varying degrees and we are all running and not letting the asthma stop us from doing what we want to do.

Take it gently to start with...use your meds, whatever you've been prescribed and build up very gradually again. You will gain more confidence over time...there's no rush.

Take care
  • Options
    Also, I have found the website for the National Asthma Campaign quite useful
  • Options
    thanks, Trinity. I'm going for my first (slow, gentle!!) run tomorrow. I've been putting it off a bit, but thanks to your kind words I can get back on the road. Thanks again.
  • Options
    You're welcome J
    Glad to hear you're getting back out there...take it easy and enjoy
  • Options
    Thanks so much - done it - went for about 35 minutes nice and gentle, body doesn't know what's hit it, but I'm back on track(!) and looking forward to the next run - despite the wheezes and aching muscles - it is good for me - isn't it???!!!!
  • Options
    Well done Jacqueline...yes it is good for you! And you sound much brighter too...that's great!!
  • Options
    If anyone is in a newsagents pick up a copy of this weeks New Scientist p36.

'TAKE A DEEP BREATH