Options

Effect of weight loss on times

I've been running for a few years with a marathon pb of 4.50, HM 2.02, 10k 54:00 and 5k 25.30. I'm pretty steady at 25 ish miles a week unless in marathon training. I am however very overweight and these times have been run at about 18 stone. I am currently 17 st 6 lb (hopefully on a long road to a more sensible weight) and to be honest already feel a bit swifter in training runs. I just wondered if anyone had experience of losing excess weight and what happened to their times? I don't plan to change much in training, other than being consistent. Any help would be much appreciated

Comments

• Options

Assuming you are average build and height you could make massive improvements.

There are statistics on how much a stone of weight saves you in a marathon, I can't remember the article but it was significant. That was just the carrying of the weight. Assuming you lost a lot of the weight from training, you also have the aerobic endurance improvements on top.

That marathon time also looks slow compared to the shorter distances as well.

• Options
    I think I've seen it written as 2 secs per mile per Lb of fat lost.

Sounds plausible.

Your mara time is way wonky compared to your half - I'm guessing your training wasnt as thorough as it was for the half ?
  • Options
    Big_GBig_G ✭✭✭

I once worked it out for me that when I lost a fair bit of weight, my improvement in times could all have been attributed to the weight loss!  That was a slight kick in the teeth, but then I was able to improve my times some more whilst maintaining that weight.

• Options

Surely the usual drop off from HM to marathon time is only accentuated with excess weight? You're using a huge amount of energy to travel 26.2 miles. I'm sure one of the advantages of losing weight would be to reduce this drop off in pace.