Hi all newbie here.

2»

Comments

• Welcome tjubix. JGav is spot on. I've heard it's 10 posts you have to make before you can start a new thread but I'm not at 10 yet so can't be sure.
  • SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    tjubix - you can't start a new thread until you've posted a few times and you have more stars against your name.   It's to stop spam and idiots like the one above your post here who is not a runner.    You could search for a thread on the same topic that you want to discuss and post on that thread.
  • Since I can't post a new thread yet I want to try it this way...

I'm an an intermediate/experienced runner.

I have a specific question about running and VO2 max / hitting the treshold:

Is it possible to "feel" it in your breathing when you hit your VO2 max level while running? And if yes, how should it feel like?
    Is it possible to "feel" when you hit your treshold heartrate? And if yes, how should it feel like?

I'm asking this question because I think I can feel it in my breeding when I hit my VO2 max level, but I'm not sure if what I feel is really me hitting my VO2 max. What I feel is I'm really starting to gasp heavily while hitting a limit. My lungs are trying to get in more air, but they just can't. It feels a bit like choking, like if someone is squeezing your trachea/windpipe. Has someone experienced the same feeling when you really push towards the limit? After the gasping I can still push on until I reach HRmax.

thanks !
  • I am a newbie also I am 27 and never been a runner and today i went on my 3rd run. From couch potato to runner. I literally had zero exercise for 6 years now and wasnt working. I ran 3 miles today in 38 minutes so I am proud of myself. My calves hurt like crazy though. I hope by spring to run a 5k in 30 or less minutes.