Cross training at home

Hey all!

Hello, I'm new. I'm working my way through the Bupa beginner half marathon plan (finished week 2 this morning image ) and have a cross training day coming up in a week or 2. My friends say they go to the gym on that day but I don't want to join, for financial reasons amongst others.

I feel like I should be doing more to improve my overall strength and flexibility. 

So I guess I'm after suggestions/links to decent cross-training routines/videos to be done at home for running that they would recommend for a beginner like me looking to build strength and increase flexibility?

Thanks all!

G

Comments

• There is plenty on YouTube. All free so you can browse at your leisure and do the routines you like.

I use Youtube for yoga and core workouts. I would suggest you put in "yoga for runners" and try out some routines. As a beginner I would suggest Ekhart Yoga or Yoga with Adrienne, they both have suitable routines. I also use Sean Vigue, but some of his woouts are quite challenging.
  • There is a good little app called the 7 minute workout

There are manymanymany on the interweb,  I know some who have got on really well with RebelFit and The Body Coach and Emily Skye is also good and she posts a lot of clips for quick workouts, Davina is usually good so I would say mix & match a few, pick those that work for you and see how you get on!

• PG3PG3 ✭✭✭

kinetic revolution is a great resource but it has targeted exercises, rather than an all over routine.  It has in depth video clips on exercises to target specific weaknesses etc