Options

leg injury - mild

Ive been running for about 5 months and suffered a lot with pain up betweeen my knee and ankle on the inside. Both legs but presently on left leg predominantly. Ive been using crappy sportsdirect running shoes - recently bought a ??95 pair of trainers from a running shop which feels amazing!!! Went on a running machine and told I'm a neutral runner. But my left leg I cant shake the pain... a sharp pain when I tiptoe, walk upstairs, get out of car - but no pain generally when walking and when running once warmed up dont feel anything. Ill attach photo of where pain is -- inside lower end of leg, above ankle. More front than side though but towards inside of main bone.... Can I keep pushing hard? I leave to train with army in 3 weeks. Ive only run once a week last two weeks and still there. A lot of fast paced jogging.... 5 miles at about 6.5-7mph and 1.5 mile PB runs. Currently 10:18 treadmill. 10:38 street... so about 8.5-9mph Your thoughts please guys, I need to tain harder to better prepare for army training

Comments

• Options

Too much too soon, take three weeks off then build up very very gradually, running slowly. No speed work for several months.  Go to docs and ask for bone scan / mri to rule out stress fracture.

• Options
    Doesn't sound good - especially since I'm gong away for army phase 1 training at end of January.

Last pain was beginning of December, then didn't run until after Christmas and it felt a lot better, not fully there but sooo much better. Then hit running hard with crap shoes and got worse.

You don't think it could just be bruising internally or anything?

Are there are techniques to help with a worst case and best case scenario?

Like cold spray or heat spray....

Loads of calcium and vitamin D....